SHADMIA'S WORLD

Just Another Guy with Opinions

Two DWI Charges in One Night

Posted by shadmia on October 21, 2008

Joseph S. Kelley, 52 from Canton, Mass. was lost in Upstate New York, trying to find his way back home, so he did what most of us would do – he started to look for a police station to ask for directions. It was 4 a.m. when Joseph found Troop K headquarters located in Millbrook. He got out of his car to ask for help.

One minor observation – Joseph Kelley was drunk, very drunk when he stopped to ask for directions.

While the police were giving Kelley directions, they realized that he appear to be intoxicated. They decided to check him out and discovered that he had a blood alcohol content of 0.17, more than twice the legal limit in New York (0.08). He was charged with driving while intoxicated and troopers called a taxi and released him to the driver to take Kelley to a hotel in the Town of Poughkeepsie.

Legend: A=Millbrook, B=Poughkeepsie, C=Stanford

While en route to Poughkeepsie, Kelley asked the cab driver to stop at an ATM so he could withdraw some cash to pay for his ride. When the cabbie stopped, Kelley got out and ran back to Troop K headquarters. He recovered his car, a Toyota Highlander, and drove north on the Taconic State Parkway while being followed by the taxi driver.

State troopers stopped him in the Town of Stanford and again arrested him on suspicion of driving while intoxicated. He was taken back to Trooper K headquarters and this time his blood alcohol content was 0.14.

Kelley was arraigned in front of Town of Stanford Justice Frank Weber Jr. and sent to Dutchess County Jail on $5,000 bail or $10,000 bond. He is due back in the Town of Stanford court to answer to the charges.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Two DWI Charges in One Night”

  1. 3rd DWI in Minnesota

    Most people don’t know that you should not drive a vehicle for at least 12 hours after you have had your last drink. If you do so, you are committing the criminal offense called DWI (Driving While Intoxicated).

    3rd DWI in Minnesota

    Most people don’t know that you should not drive a vehicle for at least 12 hours after you have had your last drink. If you do so, you are committing the criminal offense called DWI (Driving While Intoxicated).

    If you are first-time offender, i.e. it’s your first DWI case; you may be able to get off a little easily. But, the same is not true if it is your 2nd DWI. It will be worse in the case of 3rd DWI. Almost all developed countries of the world, especially America, are facing a serious crisis of skyrocketing drunk driving cases. Minnesota is not an exception to this. Combating this issue has been the prime concern in all American States. They have made strict rules and laws relating to Driving While Intoxicated and these laws are also competently enforced by the law enforcement officers. These rules keep changing between the states and even between the counties.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: