SHADMIA'S WORLD

Just Another Guy with Opinions

Armed 80-Year-Old Fights Back

Posted by shadmia on February 21, 2008

james-picket.jpg

80-Year-Old James Pickett from North Texas was not someone you take lightly. He is a WWII vet, an ex-firefighter and an avid John Wayne fan. There’s an old saying: “Don’t bite off more than you can chew“. This is exactly what two brothers, Paul and Holden Perry, did when they came “a-callin” on James Pickett.

To be sure the visit by the two brothers had nothing to do with being neighborly, they came to rob and possibly kill Pickett. They saw the 80-year-old as an easy target. They could not have been more wrong.

True Grit

When Pickett got up to answer the door, he happened to have a pistol. He put the pistol in his pants before opening the door. Then, said Pickett of one of his attackers: “He just came through that door, stabbing and beating“. After a brief struggle in which Pickett was stabbed and cut a number of times, he managed to get the gun out of his pocket and shot Paul Perry, the bullet just missing his spine.

The two brothers fled but didn’t get far before having to call an ambulance. They were captured. Both of them now face assault, burglary and robbery charges. Deputies assure James Pickett they aren’t likely to get out of jail anytime soon but he isn’t worried.

“I think I’m a ten times better shot than and he is… But they best not come back,” he said.

The neighbors call Pickett a hero. If anything, he showed the “True Grit” of his idol John Wayne who once said:

“Life is tough, but it’s tougher when you’re stupid.”

 

I am sure his two attackers share that same sentiment!

 

Add to Technorati Favorites

6 Responses to “Armed 80-Year-Old Fights Back”

  1. Missy said

    The Perry brothers came ‘a callin’ to inquire about prescription pain meds, which Picket had been (allegedly) selling to some of their friends. Either he was selling them to make ends meet(blame Govt) or to just have extra $$ for bullets. I know these boys and they did not pick the poorest guy on the street to ‘rob’, or possibly kill.

    How many folks do you know answer the door with a pistol? That is something you only hear about dope dealers doing, being paranoid about their illegal activities. Why did he have one?

  2. yyret said

    missy,
    you are an idiot

  3. missy said

    The Perry brothers came ‘a callin’, I know these boys and they are dumbass dopeheads like me………..

  4. kramer said

    Missy, regardless of whether the Perry boys claim they were there to buy presciption meds, ole man Pickett wound up with staples in his head by a man barrelling into his home swinging a knife with an intent to harm and an intent to rob.

    I believe the 50 year plea bargain Paul Perry recently took, was too lenient.

    By the way, I too know the Perry boys. In fact, I am related to them. This is something I became ashamed to admit beginning February 14, 2008.

  5. cldofconvicted said

    Missy, you dumb ass…. are you kidding me? I do not care if this man was selling heroin, these dumb asses didn’t have any right to try to KILL HIM OR ROB HIM!! I saw Mr. Perry during his jury selection and he looked a little different than in his MUG SHOT!!!! AND the scum that was representing him….. ScUM….ScUM…..ScUM….. I hope these JERKS rot in prison AND WAY TOO GO MR. PICKETT!!!!!!! ROT IN JAIL PERRY BROTHERS OR….. USE THIS TIME IN THE SLAMMER TO GET YOUR LIFE IN ORDER.. You will have to stand before GOD one day………………………

  6. Brittany said

    Ok well I actually happen to know the perry boys. Very well actually. Holden is my sons father, and believe me those boys are quite upset over there actions, mr Pickett himself felt that the time they recieved was too long. Which was a opinion he voiced himself. I understand what they did was an act of a idiot. But I would hope that my son wouldn’t have to suffer without his father or uncle. Many of u may think against my post and that is fine, but before u judge what u have to say just know that i have never done drugs, or been in trouble with the law. So I do know that my judgement would not be based on the fact it is my sons father but the fact that I talk to him about how sorry he is and how good he wants to be for his son. Holden has become a major christian, so therefore god will forgive him when he is judged, however those of u judging these boys should stop now, because only god has the right to judge,and believe me they are sorry enough.

Leave a Reply

 
